PRPLI 30th Annual Awards Dinner

Each year, notable Long Islanders are honored by Public Relations Professionals of Long Island (PRPLI) at a celebratory Awards Dinner. We celebrate the accomplishments of a rising star, a lifetime achiever, Long Island achiever, mentor of the year, Long Island’s best PR campaign, and outstanding media member, in addition to awarding scholarships to exceptional college students majoring in public relations. Honorees and their supporters truly enjoy a memorable evening.

Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Westbury Manor, 1100 Jericho Turnpike, Westbury, NY 11590
6:00 pm – 9:00 pm

prpli awards gala 2017

Now Accepting 2020 Awards Nominations

Do you know a notable Long Islander worthy of one of PRPLI’s distinguished awards? We are now accepting nominations for the 2020 Awards Dinner. Winners will be recognized at the 2020 Awards Dinner on Wednesday, May 6, 2020.

The FINAL deadline for submissions is MONDAY, JANUARY 27, 2020. Please submit your nomination materials as one document to

2020 Awards Nominations Forms are now available!

Download 2020 Nominations Form

Nomination Categories

Jack Rettaliata Lifetime Achievement Award

A lifetime achievement award presented to an industry leader who has helped shape the public relations landscape on Long Island.

Past winners include Julie Gross Gelfand, Louise Cassano, Kevin Ryan, Terry Lynam, Jeffrey Morosoff, Don Miller, Robert Zimmerman, Steve Haweeli, Patrick Calabria, Lyn Dobrin, Reginald Tuggle, Hilary Hartung, Ed Grilli, Beverly Boyarsky, Dr. Adrienne O’Brien, Gary Lewi, Bert Cunningham, Michael DeLuise, Edith Ialeggio, Gene Turner, Hank Boerner, Katherine Heaviside, Howard Blankman, Richard Dunne, John Renyhart, William Gibney, Ed Smith, Jack Rettaliata.

Long Island Achievement Award

Presented to a Long Island leader who may or may not be a public relations practitioner, but who has effectively promoted Long Island through special events, issues, and other notable activities.

Past winners include Lance Reinheimer, Discover Long Island, Randi Shubin Dresner, Michael Harrison, Cynthia Scott/Sandy Oliva, Adrienne Esposito, Eric Alexander, Teresa Rizzuto, Jim Morgo, Dr. Robert A Scott, Dr. Ann-Marie Scheidt, Marianne Garvin, Michael Watt, Richard Kruse, John Caracciolo, Mitchell Pally, the Long Island Wine Industry, Robert Lipper, Robert MacMillan, Jack Russell, Joe Gergela, Gene Bernstein, Monsignor Tom Hartman, Michael Davidson, Dr. James Shuart, James Larocca.

Howard M. Blankman Outstanding Mentor Award

Presented to a public relations practitioner who exemplifies the tenets of PRPLI – Advance, Learn, Share, Network – and is an inspiration and source of encouragement to others in the field.

Past winners include Kali Chan, Flo Federman, Ellen Frisina, Sharyn O’Mara, Donna Rivera-Downey, Hilary Topper, Jeff Morosoff, Debra Scala-Giokas, Luis Portiansky, Daniel Kellachan, Mindy F. Wolfle, Louise Cassano, Laurie Bloom, John Hanc.

Outstanding Media Award

Presented to a media or journalism professional or organization that pays particular attention to Long Island issues and topics and understands the value of Long Island’s public relations industry.

Past winners include Elizabeth Hashagen, Scott Brinton, Joe Dowd, David Winzelberg, Greg Cergol, Carolyn Gusoff, Kristine Wolf, Bernadette Starzee, Deborah Herman, Nada Marjanovich, Donna Vaughn, Ed Lowe, Carol Silva, Carl Corry, David North, Mike Graham, David Weiss, Christine Sheahan, John Kominicki, Lea Tyrrell, Frank Brinka, Vicki Metz, Irene Virag, Susan Murphy, Doug Geed.

Rising Star Award

Presented to a public relations newcomer (5 years or less) who exhibits exceptional promise and professionalism.

Past winners include Kevin Wilkinson, Ashley Fresa, Carley Weinstein, Peter Guaraldi, Diana Ziskin, Brett Spielberg, Kalli Dionysiou, Victoria Tringone, Sandra Choi, Melissa Rose, Theresa Weston, Kimberly Alarcon, Christopher Bastardi, Lee Peretz, Laura Nuzzolo O’Connell, Lisa Becker, Gina DeGregorio, Heather Boudreau, Flo Federman, Roseanne Modugno, Laurel Factor, Jennifer Cline, Dianne Baumert, Susan Shattuck.

PR Campaign of the Year:

Presented to a campaign that demonstrates creativity, strategy, ethical standards and a positive outcome, in one of the following three categories: agency, in-house, or nonprofit.

Past winners include Zimmerman/Edelson, Inc. (Agency), Lessing’s Hospitality Group (In-House), Camille Koorey/Judith White, CJ2 Communications; Julie Gelfand, Marcum LLP; Kathleen Caputi, Epoch 5; Theresa Statz-Smith, Long Island Alliance and Audrey Cohen, Epoch 5 Public Relations.